QNI consults on more community nursing standards

The Queen’s Nursing Institute (QNI) has published draft education and practice standards for three further specialisms in community nursing.

The standards cover health and justice nursing, community palliative and end-of-life care nursing, and community learning disability nursing.

A consultation has now been launched on the standards, which will run until 9 November 2023.

The QNI said it particularly wanted to hear the views of those commissioning or delivering specialist practitioner qualifications (SPQs) in community nursing.

It comes after, in August, the QNI launched ‘field specific’ standards for six other community nursing disciplines.

Those standards covered adult social care nursing, community children’s nursing, community mental health nursing, district nursing, general practice nursing, and inclusion health nursing.

Crystal Oldman

Crystal Oldman

The QNI is also introducing an accreditation programme for education providers that meet its standards, which are designed to complement the Nursing and Midwifery Council’s more generic SPQ standards.

Speaking in August when the first group of standards were launched, Dr Crystal Oldman, QNI chief executive, said: “There are real benefits to nurses, employers and patients flowing from the QNI field specific standards.

“Individual nurses will have access to clearly articulated educational pathways based on standards which are consistently applied by [higher education institutes] for their field of practice.

See also  Unique Ways Nursing Leaders Can Appreciate Their Teams on Employee Appreciation Day

“This will have a wider benefit in terms of staff development, recruitment and retention for employers across the system.”

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button