The Nursing Times Awards 2024 are now open for entries

The Nursing Times Awards for 2024 are now open for entries, featuring a brand-new category to celebrate the contribution of nurses to green issues.

The annual Nursing Times Awards are back for another year, so start getting your submissions and nominations ready to be in with a chance of winning.

The winners will be announced at a glittering ceremony at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane in London on Wednesday 23 October 2024.

The event will bring together the nursing community to shine a light on the brightest talent in the profession and recognise those making nursing innovative, patient-focused and inclusive.

All of our award categories are designed to highlight those who have gone above and beyond what is expected of them in their day-to-day role.

They celebrate innovation, perseverance and incredible work across 25 categories, covering a wide range of nursing specialties from mental health to social care to children’s services.

They also recognise the individuals and teams who are truly exceptional, with standout awards for Nurse of the Year, Team of the Year, Nurse Leader of the Year and the Chief Nursing Officers’ Award for Lifetime Achievement.

See also  Cultivating Leadership Skills in Nursing Students to Meet Tomorrow's Healthcare Challenges

Congratulations once again to the 2023 Nurse of the Year, Eric Teague-Hellon, who is the primary care team leader with Practice Plus Group at HMP Stafford.

The Team of the Year prize last year went to the acute oncology service at North Devon District Hospital, part of Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, and the Nurse Leader of the Year trophy went to Richard Jones at NHS Practitioner Health.

For the lifetime achievement award, the UK’s chief nurses chose Greg Padmore-Dix, executive nurse director and deputy chief executive at Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board.

In addition, returning for a second year in 2024 are the three categories we initially launched in 2023, including Nursing in Primary Care and Midwife of the Year.

The first-time winners of these were Laura Walton, a midwife from King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, and the team behind the Nurses on Tour scheme, whereby student nurses help deliver health checks to communities while gaining experience in primary care.

Also new last year was a very important category, the Dame Elizabeth Anionwu Award for Inclusivity in Nursing and Midwifery.

The inaugural trophy went to Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust for its Kofoworola Abeni Pratt Fellowship, which aims to address the gap in senior leaders who identify as being from a Black, Asian or minority ethnic background.

Meanwhile, new for this year, we are delighted to welcome entries for the first time in the Sustainability in Nursing and Midwifery category.

Action on sustainability and green issues, both political and practical, is required at every level to tackle the climate crisis.

See also  Calls for nurse training to spot diabetes disordered eating

Arguably, the health and care sector has been slower than others in prioritising sustainability and green policies, in part due to infection prevention and control policies among other things.

While it is starting to make up ground, there is still much to do and many opportunities for those working in the sector with ideas and innovations to make a real difference.

Supporting action to improve sustainability by nurses and midwives is a key aim of Nursing Times and one of the main reasons that we are launching this new category dedicated to green issues.

This award seeks to recognise an individual or small group or team of nurses or midwives that has made an exceptional contribution to promoting sustainability and green issues.

The 2024 Nursing Times Awards are open to entries from individuals and teams, or nominations from those who wish to highlight others who they believe deserve recognition.

They provide you with the perfect opportunity to congratulate your peers, leaders and the brightest talent entering the profession.

You have until midnight on Friday 10 May 2024 to submit your entry. We can’t wait to hear your story – start your application today!

You can find more information about all the categories and how to enter by visiting the Nursing Times Awards website.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button